maroon wave
2024-25 SU Student Fulbright semifinalists
From left: 2024-25 SU Student Fulbright semifinalists Trey Skinner, Jarrett Walton, Madison Cuthbert, Ashlynn Burrows and Alison Wright.

Twelve from SU Named 2024-25 Fulbright Student Semifinalists

By SU Public Relations

SALISBURY, MD---Twelve Salisbury University community members have been named Fulbright Student semifinalists for the 2024-25 program.

The Fulbright is America’s flagship international exchange program, sponsored by the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. This year’s semifinalists represent more than 50% of the University’s applicants.

They received support from SU faculty and staff who, along with providing application help, assisted with practice Fulbright interviews for all candidates.

“This is an intensive service, but one that really makes a difference in our students’ applications,” said Dr. Kristen Walton, director of SU’s Nationally Competitive Fellowships Office.

Three seniors, three SU alumni and one adjunct faculty member are being considered for English Teaching Assistantships: Ashlynn Burrows, a conflict analysis and dispute resolution and communication major from Edgewater, MD, to the Czech Republic; Ryan Deysher, adjunct instructor in SU’s English Department, to Poland; Cecilia Gabbidon ’23, from Gaithersburg, MD, to Colombia; Shayna Grossberg ’23, from Gaithersburg, MD, to Azerbaijan; Danielle Jensen, a mathematics and information systems major from Edgewater, MD, to Bulgaria; Jarrett Walton, a history and management major from Finksburg, MD, to Slovakia; and Ally Wright ’21. M’23, from Olney, MD, to Romania.

Three current students and two alumni also are up for academic study and research awards: Madison Cuthbert, an environmental and international studies major from Potomac, MD, to Greece; Erin Karrh ’21, a conflict analysis and dispute resolution master’s student from Centreville, MD, to India; Naomi Perry, a biology and French major from Odenton, MD, to France; Rebecca Pritt ’23, of Havre de Grace, MD, to Malaysia; and Trey Skinner ’23, from Salisbury, to Germany.

Cuthbert, Jensen and Perry are members of SU’s Glenda Chatham and Robert G. Clarke Honors College.

More than 100 SU students have won national and international fellowships, scholarships and awards in the past decade, including 39 Fulbright students. SU students or alumni who are interested in applying for national fellowships may contact Walton for assistance.  For more information, visit the SU Nationally Competitive Fellowships Office webpage.

Learn more about SU and opportunities to Make Tomorrow Yours at the SU website.