Skip to Main Content
Salisbury University BW
A Maryland University of National Distinction
navigation icon opens header SALISBURY UNIVERSITY

navigation icon opens menu

Press Releases

Friday, January 31, 2014

Sea Gull Century Scholarships and Grants Awarded

Sea Gull Century 25 Year LogoSALISBURY, MD---In addition to raising thousands of dollars annually for charities, Sea Gull Century cyclists also support the Salisbury University community.

Proceeds from the 25th anniversary ride in October 2013 provided $5,500 in scholarships for 13 students, as well as $5,000 for 15 grants for faculty and staff.

The students all participated in the ride or served as event volunteers. They included seniors Aaron Curry, a physics major from Landover, MD; Mercedes Mangold, an exercise science/allied health major from Linwood, NJ; Katie McGahagan, an athletic training major from Baltimore; Karly Moore an exercise science/health sciences major from Thurmont, MD; Sean Reedy, an athletic training major from Crofton, MD; and Kristen Russo, an exercise science/allied health major from Bel Air, MD.

Also, receiving scholarships were juniors Megan Crabill, a communication arts and marketing management major from Glenwood, MD, and Joseph Watso, an exercise science major from Willards, MD; sophomore Megan McGowan an exercise science major from Cambridge, MD; and freshmen Ayodoyin Olorunsola, a biology and chemistry major from Perry Hall, MD; Jacob Fazio, an accounting and outdoor education leadership major from Frederick, MD; Jamie Potter a communication arts major from Kensington, MD;  and Bridgette Anne Vogan, an exercise science major from Elicott City, MD.

.: Related Sites :.
Faculty and staff recipients were: Drs. Stephen Hardy of Advancement Services; Chrys Egan of Communication Arts; Tylor Claggett and Keri Manakyan of Economics and Finance; Jill Caviglia-Harris and Richard Melstrom of Economics and Finance/Environmental Studies; Celine Carayon, Tom Goyens and Kristen Walton of History; Catherine Otto and Tom Pellinger of Health Sciences; Carolina Bown of Modern Languages and Intercultural Studies; Robert Kirsch of Philosophy; Sarah Surak of Political Science/Environmental Studies; and Eileen Gilheany of Social Work.

Selected annually by a Sea Gull Century committee, the awards are for the spring semester. Scholarships ranged from $250 to $1,000, and students must have a minimum 3.0 grade point average. Faculty grants were from $275 to $500. Their awards supported presentations on topics ranging from medical laboratory science skills to the choreography of anarchism.

For more information call 410-677-5416 or visit

* * *

[ Top ]

* * *

* * *


Need help or have questions about this page? Please visit our Ask a Question or Report a Problem page.
Salisbury University 1101 Camden Avenue Salisbury, MD 21801 410-543-6000