Salisbury University students on campus

University Sustainability Committee

Comprised of students, faculty and staff, the University Sustainability Committee works toward developing and promoting the use of environmentally sound practices campus-wide and to incorporate sustainability into the delivery of instruction. In addition, the committee helps guide the University in meeting the objectives of the American College and University Presidents' Climate Commitment.

Get to Know the Committee

Want to know more about the committee? Check out its charter and mission statement or take a look at the minutes from its meetings.

Members include:

  • Eric Berkheimer, Associate Vice President of Facilities and Capital Management, Architectural and Engineering Services/Capital Projects
  • Dan Ervin, Professor of Economics and Finance
  • Kellee Toler, Graduate Student Representative
  • Dave Gutoskey, Housing and Residence Life Director
  • Eli Modlin, SU Chief of Staff Vice President of Public Affairs & Strategic Initiatives
  • Jenna Feinauer, VP of Sustainability, Student Government Association
  • Lori Pauling, Creative Services and Brand Strategy
  • Ken Kundell, Chief Information Officer and Assistant Vice President of Information Technology
  • Jonathan Cooper, Physical Plant Director
  • Shawn McEntee, Sociology Department Faculty
  • Michael Scott, Richard A. Henson School of Science and Technology Dean
  • Chris Homeister, Director of Campus Sustainability Program
  • Jaime Bunting, Environmental Studies Department Program Specialist
  • Lynn Adkins, Associate Vice President, Administration & Finance
  • Jeff Canada, Procurement Director, Procurement Office

Climate Action Plan Subcommittee

The Climate Action Plan Subcommittee created the University Climate Action Plan in 2010 and work on its ongoing assessment and revision.

Members of the Climate Action Plan Subcommittee include:

  • Mike Vienna, Athletics
  • Tim Jones, Energy Manager
  • Libby Young, Environmental Students Assoc.
  • Karen Olmstead, Faculty-Dean
  • Richard England, Faculty-Fulton School
  • Andy Pica, Faculty-Henson School
  • Stephen Ford, Faculty-Library
  • Dan Ervin, Faculty-Perdue School
  • Ed Robeck, Faculty-Seidel School
  • Betty Crockett, Financial Services
  • Ken Kundell, Information Technology
  • Colleen Kirby, Motorpool
  • Joyce Falkinburg, Procurement
  • Becky Rosing-Johnson, Recycling
  • Jackie Eberts, Staff Senate
  • Gwen Owen, Student Affairs
  • Elizabeth Wright, Student Sustainability Club
  • Wayne Shelton, Sustainability
  • Kevin Mann, Transportation/Physical Plant

Campus-Community Climate Resilience Committee

The Campus-Community Climate Resilience Committee completed the climate resilience assessment. The committee is comprised of the University Sustainability Committee members as well as the following community representatives:

  • Lorenzo Cropper, Emergency Planner – Wicomico County Department of Emergency Services
  • David Fitzgerald, Emergency Management Coordinator / Risk Manger – Wicomico County Department of Emergency Services
  • Julia Glanz, City Administrator – City of Salisbury
  • Alyssa Massey, Sustainability Coordinator – City of Salisbury

Have an Environmental Topic for Consideration?

The committee’s projects in progress include developing a climate resilience plan and seeking bicycle-friendly university status. However, that doesn't mean its members are not open to other ideas, as well!

If you have a topic you would like considered, contact any committee member and ask to present at an upcoming meeting or email your suggestion to Wayne Shelton, campus sustainability and environmental safety director, and he will take it to the committee for recommendations to the appropriate department, office or group.