Skip to Main Content
Salisbury University BW
A Maryland University of National Distinction
navigation icon opens header SALISBURY UNIVERSITY

navigation icon opens menu

Press Releases

Friday, August 20, 2004

Delmarva Teachers Complete Math ADEPT Program

SALISBURY, MD---The need for certified mathematics teachers at the middle school level is on the rise not only in Maryland, but throughout the United States.  Some 23 Eastern Shore middle school mathematics teachers recently earned post-baccalaureate Certificate in Middle School Mathematics (CMSM) from Salisbury University. The CMSM certificates are diplomas of advanced study awarded by SU represent an advanced graduate-level competence in the rigorous, standards-based content and pedagogy critical for today's middle school mathematics classrooms. The Math ADEPT program was established at SU in 2001 by Drs. Homer Austin and Harel Barzilai, who co-direct the program through the Department of Mathematics and Computer Science. They received support from the National Science Foundation (NSF), which awarded them a three-year, $513,000 program grant. The funding included some $200,000 in free tuition to area teachers. Additional funding was obtained through Maryland Math ADEPT, a $95,000 grant directed by Dr. Barzilai and awarded by the Maryland Higher Education Commission (MHEC) "The ultimate beneficiaries of this additional education and training these teachers have worked hard to attain will be the middle school students of Delmarva,” said Austin. The teachers earn a one-year subscription to the journal Mathematics Teaching in the Middle School as part of their gift membership in the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM), receive a copy of NCTM's nationally recognized Standards 2000 guide for excellence in mathematics teaching and are awarded a $100 stipend. Teachers awarded certificates are: Tina Benson of Caroline County; Teresa Smith and Michelle Lankford of Dorchester County; Melissa Kansack, Jamie Kohlenstein and Carissa Pepper of Sussex County, DE; Susan Algier and Janet Mullikin of Talbot County; James Barton, Janine Edwards, Edward Ennels, Eleanor Ennis, Bertina Farrare, Michael Franks, Debroah Fries, Kimberly Nutter, Jennifer Seay, Michele Tatum-White and Tracey Townsend of Wicomico County; and Daniel Andrews, Christine Green, Lauren Harman and Dora Larimore of Worcester County. "We are very pleased to have these teachers recognized for their hard work in attaining this significant professional accomplishment," said Barzilai. For more information call (410) 543-6140 or 410-543-6471 or visit the Math ADEPT Web site at

* * *

[ Top ]

* * *

* * *


Need help or have questions about this page? Please visit our Ask a Question or Report a Problem page.
Salisbury University 1101 Camden Avenue Salisbury, MD 21801 410-543-6000