maroon wave
State Normal School at Salisbury
The State Normal School at Salisbury

SU Centennial Steering Committee Announced

By SU Public Relations

SALISBURY, MD---On September 7, 1925, the State Normal School at Salisbury opened its doors to students for the first time.

Tens of thousands have matriculated through its programs, earning degrees as the institution’s name changed to Maryland State Teachers College (1934), then Salisbury State College (1963), then Salisbury State University (1988) and, finally, Salisbury University (2001).

As SU approaches its 100th anniversary in fall 2025, the University has announced a 32-member steering committee to plan the centennial celebration.

“One hundred years is a tremendous milestone for any institution, especially one as storied as Salisbury University,” said SU President Carolyn Ringer Lepre. “For nearly a century, our graduates have gone on to make an incredible impact across the globe. This will be a celebration of not only their accomplishments, but those of the faculty and staff who have served our University with pride, of the current and future students who will continue to shape the world for decades to come, and of our community that has supported us along the way.”

“The members of our SU Centennial steering committee have demonstrated a strong dedication to our University and its students,” said Jason Curtin ’98, SU vice president of advancement; executive director of the SU Foundation, Inc.; and SU Centennial chair. “Through their leadership, we are looking forward to a festive celebration for the campus and greater communities, spanning the academic year, from August 2025 through May 2026.”

Comprised of SU students, faculty, staff, administrators and alumni, as well as members of the greater community, additional steering committee members include:

  • Maggie Atherton, SU conflict analysis and dispute resolution major
  • Dr. Melissa Boog M’00, associate vice president of academic affairs
  • Niya Brown ’15, M’18, clinical faculty, Early and Elementary Education Department
  • Dr. Davis Carter, postdoctoral teaching fellow, Glenda Chatham and Robert G. Clarke Honors College
  • Robby Chin ‘11, program administrative specialist, Office of Diversity and Inclusion
  • Crystal Collins, media specialist, Draper Media
  • Richard Culver ’70, retired public relations director
  • Katie Curtin, integrated marketing director
  • Dr. Lawanda Dockins-Mills ’82, M’96, retired assistant vice president of student affairs
  • Dr. Janet Dudley-Eshbach, President Emerita
  • Mike Dunn ’84, president and CEO, Greater Salisbury Committee
  • Dr. Chrys Egan, associate dean, Charles R. and Martha N. Fulton School of Liberal Arts
  • Dr. Dane Foust, vice president of student affairs
  • Michelle Hirsch, executive administrative assistant, University Advancement
  • Dr. Aaron Johnson, associate professor, Marketing Department
  • Julius Jones Jr. ’06, M’09, SU Foundation board member
  • Logan Krebs, political science major and director of annual events, Student Organization for Activity Planning
  • Dr. Lili Leonard ’09, M’11, past president, SU Alumni Association
  • Dominick Lepke, accounting major
  • Dr. Creston Long, director, Edward H. Nabb Research Center for Delmarva History and Culture
  • Dr. Sherry Maykrantz ’09, M’11, associate professor of public health, School of Health Sciences
  • Michelle Pryor ’13, M’20, annual giving and engagement director
  • Jason Rhodes, public relations director and University spokesperson
  • Lee Roth ’00, SU Alumni Association board member
  • Sheree Satchell ’09, M’11, student diversity recruitment and retention coordinator, Office of Diversity and Inclusion
  • Dr. Clara Small, professor emeritus of history
  • Michelle Stokes, senior advisor to the President
  • Jessica Stoltz M’14, associate director of athletics and campus recreation
  • Amy Waters, deputy director, SU Foundation
  • Dr. Christy Weer M’96, dean, Franklin P. Perdue School of Business
  • Teri Westhoff, international accounting manager, Perdue Farms

The committee will be divided into eight subcommittees: Alumni and Parent Engagement, Communications and Marketing, Community Engagement, Education and Academic Events, Fundraising, History and Legacy, Special Events, and Student Engagement.

“While this committee will guide our efforts for the SU Centennial, the celebration will be a massive undertaking, involving many more members of the campus and greater communities in planning and implementation,” said Jason Curtin. “Above all, we want to make our 100th anniversary a year to remember.”

Learn more about SU and opportunities to Make Tomorrow Yours at