TRIO Program Awards

TRIO Program Awards 2024

Rookie of the Year

Description:  This award applauds those participants who are new to the TRIO Program for the current 2022-2023 academic year and model the virtues and qualities of a student leader and promote the success of other Salisbury University and TRIO Program students.

  • Lord is Good Alafe
  • Christopher Okata
  • Regine Raymond
  • Reginald Oliver
  • Gladie Kasongo

TRIO Spotlight

Description:  The TRIO Spotlight Award celebrates exceptional students who demonstrate outstanding participation in both the TRIO Program and the broader Salisbury University community. This accolade recognizes their notable contributions, achievements and positive impact on campus, showcasing their excellence and dedication.

  • Raven McNeil
  • Odette Pierre
  • Leyda Gail Cadena
  • Jeffrey Stinfil

TRIO Perseverance

Description:  This award celebrates those participants who have demonstrated significant determination in the face of personal or academic obstacles to attain their educational goals. The TRIO Program recognizes these students who have supported and inspired other students to reach their potential. This includes helping fellow TRIO Program students access on- and off-campus resources, serving as informal mentors, reaching out to the TRIO community to promote engagement and community, and providing positive and warm energy to others.

  • Tasani Budd
  • Oscar Hernandez
  • Graciela Reyes
  • Nichaela Dean

TRIO Student of the Year

Description:  The TRIO Student Support Services Program Student of the Year award recognizes individuals who demonstrate exemplary participation, academic achievement and community involvement within the TRIO Program. To be eligible for this prestigious honor, students must meet specific criteria, including maintaining a minimum 3.0 college grade point average, actively engaging in a minimum of two required services and 15 contacts with TRIO Program staff, and receiving recommendations from both professional staff and peers. This award celebrates the holistic excellence and dedication of exceptional TRIO Program participants.

  • Stephora Cesar Alberi
  • Jazmin Aguilar Lopez
  • Xander Atwell
  • Conner Steffy

TRIO Student Worker of the Year

Description:  The TRIO Student Worker of the Year award acknowledges the exceptional dedication and commitment demonstrated by one or more TRIO Program Student Workers from the TRIO Student Staff Team. This individual has made significant contributions in inspiring and guiding TRIO Participants and exemplifying the values and mission of the program.

  • Amidat Olaleye
  • DaBrion Heath
  • Julia Dyer