COVID-19 Precautions Continue for Spring Semester

The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi

Salisbury University Chapter 168

Phi Kappa PhiPhi Kappa Phi is the nation’s oldest, largest and most selective collegiate honor society for all academic disciplines. Phi Kappa Phi is a global network comprised of the best and brightest from all academic disciplines – a community of scholars and professionals building an enduring legacy for future generations.

History of the Society

In 1897, 10 seniors at Maine State College, now the University of Maine, founded the Lambda Sigma Eta Society, an academic honor society open to superior college students regardless of academic discipline or gender.

In 1900, with strong support from the presidents of the University of Maine, the University of Tennessee, and what is now Penn State University, the society became a national organization.

This organization differed from any other honor society then in existence in that it honored high achievement in any academic or professional field.

That same year the founders of this broadly conceived new honor society selected as a motto the Greek phrase “Philosophia krateito photon” – “let the love of learning rule humanity” and they renamed the society Phi Kappa Phi from the initial letters of the three Greek words forming its adopted motto.

Because of its multidisciplinary nature, Phi Kappa Phi draws its membership from all colleges, divisions and departments within an academic institution. Currently there are more than 300 chapters of Phi Kappa Phi ranging from Maine to the Philippines and from Alaska to Puerto Rico. During the years of its existence, over one million people have become members of the Society. As a result, Phi Kappa Phi is now the oldest and largest collegiate honor society that inducts scholars from every academic discipline.

History of SU's Chapter

The Salisbury University chapter was founded in 1974 through the efforts of faculty, staff and administrators. These founding members were able to establish that Salisbury State College, as it was known at the time, was able to provide, and exceed, the highest standards for the means and atmosphere conducive to academic excellence. Founding members are also charter members of the local chapter. Since it’s foundation, Salisbury University’s chapter has an initiation ceremony each spring. Those who are invited to membership are in the top 10 percent of their class.


Membership in the honor society is by invitation only. Since the society is interdisciplinary, it elects members from all recognized branches of academic endeavor – arts, sciences, business, education and professional studies.

Selection criteria include the following:

  • Juniors must have completed 72 credit hours, 45 of those credits must be from SU. Only the top juniors are selected.
  • Seniors must have completed 90 credit hours, 60 of those credits must be from SU. Seniors must be in the top 10 percent of their class.



Current Officers

  • President: Dr. Eugene Williams
  • President Elect:
  • Student Vice Presidents:
  • Secretary Treasurer:
  • Administrative Assistant: Debbie Merryweather

Charter Members

  • Dr. Arthur L. Delpaz
  • Dr. Augustine DiGiovanna
  • Dr. Mary Laura Francis
  • Norma Hyde
  • Dr. H. Jack Kennedy
  • Dr. James C. Lackie
  • Dr. Millard LesCallette
  • Dr. Charles E. Moon
  • Constance Sickmund
  • Dr. G. Ray Thompson
  • Dr. John Lee Tyvoll
  • Dr. George I. Whitehead
  • Dr. Alethea Whitney
  • Dr. Harry E. Womack
  • Dr. Ray H. Zeigler

Past Presidents

  • 1975: Dr. Augustine DiGiovanna
  • 1976, 1977 & 1978: Dr. G. Ray Thompson
  • 1979 & 1980: Dr. George Whitehead
  • 1981 & 1982: Dr. John Tyvoll
  • 1983 & 1984: Dr. G. Ray Thompson
  • 1985 & 1986: Dr. Augustine DiGiovanna
  • 1987 & 1988: Dr. George Whitehead
  • 1989 & 1990: Dr. G. Ray Thompson
  • 1991 & 1992: Dr. Augustine DiGiovanna
  • 1993 & 1994: Dr. George Whitehead
  • 1995, 1996 & 1997: Dr. G. Ray Thompson
  • 1998 & 1999: Dr. Victoria Hutchinson
  • 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003 & 2004: Dr. Marta (Marcy) Losonczy-Marshall
  • 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2017: Dr. Eugene Williams
  • 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015: Dr. Marta (Marcy) Losonczy-Marshall
  • 2016: Dr. Elizabeth Ragan