Skip to Main Content
Salisbury University BW
A Maryland University of National Distinction
navigation icon opens header SALISBURY UNIVERSITY

navigation icon opens menu

Press Releases

Monday, February 13, 2012

SU Honors Faculty for More Than $35 Million in Grants and Publications

Platinum winners
Pictured, from left: SU President Janet Dudley-Eshbach; Platinum Award winners Drs. George Whitehead, Marvin Tossey, Michael Scott, Regina Royer, Tom Jones, Karen Goldman-Karten, Edwin Cowell, Heather Holmes, Douglas DeWitt, Memo Diriker, Mark Frana, Lisa Seldomridge and Karen Olmstead; and Dr. Clifton Griffin, dean of graduate studies and research. Not pictured are Drs. Anjali Pandey and Elichia Venso.


Gold winners
Pictured, from left: SU President Janet Dudley-Eshbach; Gold Award winners Drs. Homer Austin, Harel Barzilai and Ed Robeck; Robert Smith; and Dr. Clifton Griffin, dean of graduate studies and research. Not pictured are Drs. Jill Caviglia-Harris and Joaquin Vila.
SALISBURY, MD---Salisbury University recently celebrated faculty and staff research, publications and creative works during Research Awards and Pub Night at Blackwell Library.


During the event, President Janet Dudley-Eshbach and Dr. Clifton Griffin, dean of graduate studies and research, recognized members of the University community who had secured $500,000 or more in grants.

“Faculty and staff have used these grants to fund projects as diverse as studying the Amazon rainforest, offering an arts education program for talented middle and high school students, training teachers of students learning English as a second language and expanding University business outreach services, to name just a few,” said SU President Janet Dudley-Eshbach.

“In addition, faculty and staff have contributed to hundreds of scholarly journals, books and other publications. They are exemplars of academic excellence. Because of these and other efforts, their peers throughout the United States and beyond are seeing first-hand why Salisbury is A Maryland University of National Distinction.”

Those recognized at the gold level ($500,000 or more in grants) included Drs. Homer Austin and Harel Barzilai of the Mathematics and Computer Sciences Department, Dr. Jill Caviglia-Harris of the Economics and Finance Department, Dr. Edward Robeck of the Teacher Education Department, Robert Smith of the Theatre and Dance Department and Dr. Joaquin Vila of the English Department.

Award recipients at the platinum level ($1 million or more) included Dean of Students Edwin Cowell; Drs. Douglas DeWitt and Regina Royer of the Education Specialties Department; Business, Economic and Community Outreach Network (BEACON) Director Memo Diriker; Drs. Mark Frana, Tom Jones and Elichia Venso of the Biological Sciences Department; Lower Shore Child Care Resource Center Director Karen Goldman-Karten; Small Business Development Center Director John Hickman; Center for Student Achievement Director Heather Holmes; Richard A. Henson School of Science and Technology Dean Karen Olmstead; Dr. Anjali Pandey of the English Department; Dr. Michael Scott of the Geography and Geosciences Department; Dr. Lisa Seldomridge of the Nursing Department; Dr. Marvin Tossey of the Social Work Department and Dr. George Whitehead of the Psychology Department.

In all, honorees have secured more than $35 million in grants for SU in the past 10 years.

For more information call 410-543-6030 or visit the SU Web site at

* * *

[ Top ]

* * *

* * *


Need help or have questions about this page? Please visit our Ask a Question or Report a Problem page.
Salisbury University 1101 Camden Avenue Salisbury, MD 21801 410-543-6000