Skip to Main Content
Salisbury University BW
A Maryland University of National Distinction
navigation icon opens header SALISBURY UNIVERSITY

navigation icon opens menu

Press Releases

Tuesday, November 28, 2006

SU Chorale and Chamber Choir Perform Dec. 3

SALISBURY, MD---The Salisbury University Chorale and Chamber Choir inaugurates the University’s fall “Four for the Season” holiday music festival with its concert “Ringing in the Holiday Season” 4:30 p.m. Sunday, December 3.

Conducted by Dr. William Folger, SU’s director of choral activities, the two ensembles spotlight Mack Wilberg’s Tres Cantus Laudendi, accompanied by percussion and organist Susan Zimmer.  The chamber choir also performs works such as “Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening,” with text by Robert Frost. Other featured pieces include Stephen Hatfield’s “Un Flambeau, Jeanneatte, Isabelle,” “O Nata Lux” from Morten Lauridsen’s Lux Aeterna, “Gamelan” by R. Murray Schaffer and the Hanukkah madrigal “Mi Y’mallel” by Herbert Fromm.

The Chamber Choir continues the bell-themed performance with Kirby Shaw’s arrangement of “Carol of the Bells.” Chamber Choir members also perform John Dowland’s “Now, O Now I Needs Must Part,” Thomas Morley’s “Fire, Fire” and “It Was a Lover and His Lass,” and Orbán Gyõrgy’s “Nunc Dimittis.”

The combined choirs concludes the performance with Howard Helvey’s “O Lux Beatissima” and Mack Wilberg’s Tres Cantus Laudendi, featuring “Jubilate Deo,” “Laudate Pueri” and “Laudate Dominium.” Sponsored by the Department of Music, admission is free and the public is invited. The chorale and choir accept donations at the door to benefit a planned performance at Carnegie Hall in 2008.

Members of the chorale include Mariah Barnes, Amy Beale, Stephanie Dargan, Morgan Feldman, Sarah Fischbach, Kelly Hays, Sarah Gillespie, Glynese Justice, Meghan Morris, Carolyn Reese, Megan Robinson, Laura Schatz, Rhonda Woolford, Jennifer Butler, Megan Davis, Rachel Drozinski, Jing Lin, Shanice Jones, Shay Meador, Julianna Nixon, Sheena Owens, Catherine Walsh, Alexis Wilkins, Kiya Amajioya, George Hayne, Matthew Weaver, Joshua Czufin, Osman Jiliani and William A. V. Willis.

Chamber Choir members include Danielle Lynch, Sophia Stoltzfus, Rebecca Norris, Carly Ball, Mariah Barnes, Cara Svingos, George Hayne, Adam Miller, Jordan Nicols, Joseph Schrider, Brian Kuhn, Osman Jiliani, Matt Zeitler and William A. V. Willis.

For more information call 410-543-6030 or visit the SU Web site at

* * *

[ Top ]

* * *

* * *


Need help or have questions about this page? Please visit our Ask a Question or Report a Problem page.
Salisbury University 1101 Camden Avenue Salisbury, MD 21801 410-543-6000