Skip to Main Content
Salisbury University BW
A Maryland University of National Distinction
navigation icon opens header SALISBURY UNIVERSITY

navigation icon opens menu

Press Releases

Thursday, May 10, 2001

"Eastern Shore Computer Bowl Winners Announced"  

SALISBURY, MD---Students from 11 high schools from across the State of Maryland recently participated in the Eastern Shore Computer Bowl, co-sponsored by Conectiv and Salisbury State University’s Department of Mathematics and Computer Science.

The winners of this year’s event were: first place, Pocomoke High School, students Sidrah Ahmad, Richard Beyma, John Tarr and Jim Winfield, coach Carvel LaCurts; second place, Stephen Decatur High School, students John Kowalewski, Danny Firth, Sean Kirby and Jeff White, coach Abby Mason; third place, Stephen Decatur High School, students Matt Fields, Dave Gaudette, Vince Legnaioli and Chris Reese, coach Abby Mason; fourth place, Easton High School, students Derek Bliss, Shane Lynch, David Lester and Whitaker Weber, coach Maureen Harper.

Other teams participating in the contest were James M. Bennett High School, students Ken Dolch, Jason Ellison, Kevin Gormley and Raman Sharma, coach Linda Davis; James M. Bennett High School, students Juan Alvarado, Gabe Hughes, Sam Smith and Jessica Whitman, coach Linda Davis; Elkton High School, students Mike Auger, Mark Connelly and Chris Page, coach Bill Walsh; North Dorchester High School, students Mike Farrell, Zokeseh Labala, Jonathan Whitaker and Erick Pember, coach Linda Harding; Parkside High School, students Neil Bonsteel, Richard Hutson, Greg Johnson and Roger Williamson, coach Bill Pump; Perryville High School, students Jodi Bossard, Matt Gonce, Josh Horner and Brian Stepnitz, coach Kevin Connelly; Perryville High School, students Stephen Stroup, Matt Shoffner, Sean Hansen and Mike Ream, coach Kevin Connelly; Pocomoke High School, students Justin Atkinson, Ryan Bitting, Curtis Condyles and Stephen Hinton, coach Carvel LaCurts; Salisbury School, students Chris Perdue, Stephen Isaacs, Brad Spengler and Danny Winter, coach Mac Beattie; Salisbury School, students Dan Brenner, Mike Brenner, Yash Parghi and Zach Tapman, coach Mac Beattie; Snow Hill High School, students Keith Donoway, Donta Finney, Matt LaGarde and Matt Brown, coach Tony Wilson; Wicomico High School, students Janet Hooker, Derek Lingle, Jon Rayne and Pat Miller, coach Beth Royal; and Wicomico High School, students Josh Dean, Farrukh Gondal, Brandy Griffin and Jon Topping, coach Beth Royal.

Prizes, compliments of Conectiv, included T-shirts and certificates for all participants and monetary awards for the first-fourth places schools and savings bonds for each of the winning students: first place, $400 cash-award and $100 savings bonds; second and third place, $300 cash-award and $75 savings bond each; fourth place, $200 cash-award and $50 savings bonds.

* * *

[ Top ]

* * *

* * *


Need help or have questions about this page? Please visit our Ask a Question or Report a Problem page.
Salisbury University 1101 Camden Avenue Salisbury, MD 21801 410-543-6000