Skip to Main Content
Salisbury University BW
A Maryland University of National Distinction
navigation icon opens header SALISBURY UNIVERSITY

navigation icon opens menu

Press Releases

Monday, November 8, 2010

'Chronicle' Names SU a Top Fulbright Scholar Producer

SALISBURY, MD---Drs. Gary Harrington and Ying Wu don’t teach in the same department or even the same school, but they do have one thing in common: They are representing Salisbury University abroad this semester as Fulbright Scholars.

The Chronicle of Higher Education recently named SU among this academic year’s top producers of Fulbright scholars in the United States. Salisbury was the only master’s-level institution in Maryland to earn the distinction. Others on the list include Harvard, Stanford, Boston and Colgate universities.

“The Salisbury University faculty are outstanding scholars, and we are grateful their excellence is being recognized throughout the world,” said Dr. Diane Allen, SU provost and senior vice president of academic affairs. “As A Maryland University of National Distinction, we want to contribute to the international education community. When our faculty teach abroad, they return with valuable experiences and connections which benefit students in their classrooms.”

Sponsored by the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, the Fulbright Scholars Program is a flagship international exchange program operating in more than 155 countries. Founded in 1946, it long has been considered a hallmark of academic success.

Since 1999, some 13 SU faculty have been named Fulbright scholars. Harrington, a professor of English in SU’s Charles R. and Martha N. Fulton School of Liberal Arts, has twice been named a Fulbright Distinguished Chair. He taught at Maria Curie-Skodowska University in Lublin, Poland, during the 2002-03 academic year and returned there this year.

Wu, professor of economics and finance in SU’s Franklin P. Perdue School of Business, is currently teaching at China’s University of International Business and Economics.

Other SU faculty earning Fulbright honors have included Drs. Thomas Erskine (English), Edna Quinn (Nursing), James Welsh (English), Andrew Sharma (Communication Arts), Michael Waters (English), E. Patrick McDermott (Management and Marketing and Legal Studies), Edward Robeck (Teacher Education), Tylor Claggett (Economics and Finance), Dean Kotlowski (History), Shekar Shetty (Economics and Finance), Brian Polkinghorn (Conflict Analysis and Dispute Resolution) and James King (English).

For more information call 410-543-6030 or visit the SU Web site at

* * *

[ Top ]

* * *

* * *


Need help or have questions about this page? Please visit our Ask a Question or Report a Problem page.
Salisbury University 1101 Camden Avenue Salisbury, MD 21801 410-543-6000