Press & Publications
Holloway Hall

Press Releases

Friday, March 11, 2011

SU Seeks Nominees for Community Leadership Award

SALISBURY, MD---Know a person or organization that is making a difference in the community? Salisbury University wants to hear about them!

SU’s Town-Gown Council is accepting nominations for its 2011 President’s Distinguished Community Leadership Awards. Awards are presented in two categories: organization and individual. Winners will be recognized during SU’s Spring Commencement.

Past winners have included the Community Foundation of the Eastern Shore; former Maryland Secretary of Agriculture Lewis Riley; Women Supporting Women and its founder, Sue Revelle; MAC, Inc; community leader Henry Hanna, III; the United Way of the Lower Eastern Shore; and Peninsula Regional president and CEO Peggy Naleppa.

.: Related Sites :.
“In honoring individuals and organizations such as these, SU is able to not only say ‘thank you’ to a community which has been remarkably generous to the campus, but also to celebrate the honorees as exemplars of civic behavior and models of action for our students,” said Town-Gown Council Chair Scott Jensen. “It’s a win-win for all.”

Individuals and organizations in Wicomico, Worcester, Somerset and Dorchester counties in Maryland, Accomack and Northampton counties in Virginia, and Sussex County in Delaware are eligible. Nomination forms are available online at

Nomination forms and two letters of recommendation should be sent to Scott Jensen, Assistant to the President for Government and Community Relations, Salisbury University, 1101 Camden Ave., Salisbury, MD 21801, or e-mailed to Gina Boobar, Executive Administrative Assistant to the President, at The deadline for nominations is Friday, April 1.

For more information call 410-543-6030 or visit the SU Web site at

* * *
* * *