Skip to Main Content
Salisbury University BW
A Maryland University of National Distinction
navigation icon opens header SALISBURY UNIVERSITY

navigation icon opens menu

Press Releases

Tuesday, April 27, 1999

Honors Convocation May 7, Speaker Len Foxwell

SALISBURY, MD--Salisbury State University hosts its annual Honors Convocation Ceremony on Friday, May 7, at 3:30 p.m. in Holloway Hall Auditorium. The event continues the tradition of SSU honoring students who have made significant contributions to the campus community through scholarship and extracurricular activities.

The spring ceremony also provides an opportunity for the campus community to recognize and honor a former graduate who has continued to make a difference in the community through his/her work, volunteerism and leadership. This year’s honored alumni speaker will be Leonard Foxwell (class of ‘92), a political science major who worked with Governor Parris Glendening after graduation and who continues to work closely with the Governor’s office today. Now employed with the Maryland Department of Transportation, Foxwell has selected as the title of his address, "The Best of Times."

The May Convocation will introduce a number of new annual awards and scholarships. The Penelope Jarman Memorial Scholarship will be awarded in memory of Penelope Jarman to an education major who has a special interest in early childhood education. Jarman was an early childhood educator herself and one of the first kindergarten teachers on the Eastern Shore.

The Education Department has also received a new scholarship from the Institute of Retired Persons for a secondary education major, the third scholarship provided by that organization for SSU students.

The Honors Program will award the John and Mary-Claire Roth Honors Thesis Prize to the Honors student who is judged to write the best Honors thesis for the current year’s graduating class.

Medical technology will recognize one of its outstanding students who has demonstrated academic excellence, technical skills and dedication to the profession as its first National Committee on Clinical Laboratory Standards Honored Graduate.

The Merwin Leadership Scholarship has been established to recognize a student who has demonstrated leadership and direction positively impacting the entire campus community.

In addition to the new scholarships and awards, students will be recognized for their achievements with honored awards traditionally presented by faculty from departments in their respective schools: the Seidel School of Education and Professional Studies, the Henson School of Science and Technology, the Fulton School of Liberal Arts and the Perdue School of Business. Campus Life and Achievement Key Awards will be presented to those students excelling in academic and campus activities and students who have been initiated in campus honor societies will be recognized. Initiates into Lambda Pi Eta, a new national communication honor society for undergraduates, will be introduced for the first time.

The public is invited to attend. For additional information, contact the SSU Public Relations Office at 410-543-6030.



* * *

[ Top ]

* * *

* * *


Need help or have questions about this page? Please visit our Ask a Question or Report a Problem page.
Salisbury University 1101 Camden Avenue Salisbury, MD 21801 410-543-6000