Skip to Main Content
Salisbury University
A Maryland University of National Distinction

Partners for Progress

Town-Gown Council Mission Statement

Mission Statement

The Town-Gown Council, established in 2003, is an initiative of the President of Salisbury University to foster community ties between the University and local citizens through an open exchange of ideas and information. The Council is comprised of community residents, city officials, business representatives, and SU students, faculty, staff, and administrators.

The Town-Gown Council is composed of two subcommittees:

Neighborhood Relations Subcommittee:

The Neighborhood Relations Subcommittee works to build and sustain positive relationships between the University and local neighborhoods, identifying both concerns and opportunities, and encouraging the appropriate responsible individuals and groups to develop solutions and programs.

External Affairs Subcommittee:

The External Affairs Subcommittee focuses on sustaining and expanding the successful partnerships that exist between Salisbury University and region’s employer community. This committee will also begin discussing pertinent local and state legislative policy proposals and provide insight and feedback to the University.

Our current members include:

Title First Name Last Name Position
Mr. Eli Modlin Deputy Chief of Staff and Director of Government & Community Relations
Ms. Amy Hasson Chief of Staff, Office of the President
Ms. Samantha Allen Vice President of External Affairs, SGA
Dr. David Buchanan Campus Neighbor
The Honorable John Cannon President, Wicomico County Council
Ms. Carrianne Cicero President, Graduate Student Council
Mr. Ernie Colburn CEO, Salisbury Area Chamber of Commerce
The Honorable Bob Culver Wicomico County Executive
Mr. Jason Curtin Assistant V-P of Development & Alumni Relations
Mr. Charles Dashiell Campus Neighbor
The Honorable Jake Day President, Salisbury City Council
Ms. Joanie DiNardo President, Village at Tony Tank Creek Neighborhood Assn.
Dr. Lawanda Dockins-Mills Associate Dean of Students
Chief Barbara Duncan Chief, Salisbury Police Department
Ms. Sue Eagle Assistant V-P of Marketing & Public Relations
Dr. Michael Folkoff University Neighborhood Assn.
Ms. Donna Forgash Schumaker Pond Neighborhood
Dr. Dane Foust Vice President of Student Affairs
Mr. Tyler Gibson President, SGA
Mr. Bret Hopkins President, Salisbury Area Property Owners Association
Ms. Mentha Hynes-Wilson Associate Vice President of Student Affairs
The Honorable Jim Ireton Mayor, City of Salisbury
Ms. Jennifer Jordan Campus Neighbor
Mr. Gordon Kissner Camden Neighborhood Resident
Chief Ed Lashley Chief of University Police
Sheriff Mike Lewis Wicomico County Sheriff
Dr. Darrell Mullens President, Faculty Senate
Mr. Marty Neat President, First Shore Federal Savings and Loan
Dr. Maarten Pereboom Dean, Fulton School of Liberal Arts
Chief Mike Phillips Chief, Fruitland Police Department
Mr. John Psota City Manager, City of Fruitland
Ms. Valerie Randall-Lee Assistant Vice President of Student Affairs/Dean of Students
Mr. Blair Rinnier Rinnier Development Co.
Mr. Tim Robinson Adjunct Faculty Caucus
Mr. Tony Sarbanes Former Wicomico County Council Member
Mr. Tom Stevenson City Administrator, City of Salisbury
Lt. Brian Waller Chair, Staff Senate
Ms. Lee Whaley Salisbury Arts & Entertainment Committee
Dr. George Whitehead Faculty, Psychology Department
Mr. Bill Wyatt Campus Neighbor

For more information, contact Mr. Robby Sheehan, Deputy Chief of Staff and Director of Government and Community Relations and Chair of the Town-Gown Council at

- Top -

Need help or have questions about this page? Please visit our Ask a Question or Report a Problem page.
Salisbury University 1101 Camden Avenue Salisbury, MD 21801 410-543-6000