Skip to Main Content
Salisbury University BW
A Maryland University of National Distinction
navigation icon opens header SALISBURY UNIVERSITY

navigation icon opens menu

Press Releases

Wednesday, September 8, 2004

Two SU Professors Earn Henry C. Welcome Fellowships

SALISBURY, MD---Two Salisbury University professors recently received 2003 Henry C. Welcome fellowships from the Maryland Higher Education Commission (MHEC). Valued at $20,000 over three years, the scholarships have been awarded to Edward Brown of the Art Department and Dr. Divya Devadoss of the Mathematics and Computer Science Department. Brown has taught drawing, color theory, painting and two-dimensional design courses at SU since 2002. He earned his M.F.A. in painting from Cranbrook Academy of Art in Bloomfield Hills, MI. His solo exhibit sites have included the Mill River Gallery in Oella Mill, MD, and the Howard County Center for the Arts in Ellicott City, MD. He received the Individual Artist Award in Visual Arts from the Maryland State Arts Council in 2000. He plans to use the fellowship to make studio and classroom improvements, purchase supplies and digital art software, attend the annual College Art Association Conference in Atlanta and travel to Europe to see paintings by artists including Caspar David Friedrich and Caravaggio. “With this award I can be a more effective teacher,” he said. “Classroom improvements will directly benefit students taking drawing classes. Promoting my research increases my knowledge of art and allows me to share that knowledge with my students. With an increasingly larger number of students pursuing the B.F.A., it becomes increasingly important for faculty in the Art Department to stay current with the professional practices of their field.” Devadoss comes to SU this semester from Northwestern University. Specializing in mathematical modeling of frontal polymerization, she plans to use the fellowship to fund research and encourage undergraduate students to work with her on scholarly pursuits. The fellowship may allow those students to travel to conferences, where they can network and present their research to professors and other students from around the country. “This award will have a significant impact on my scholarship and teaching and especially on my students who have the motivation and desire to excel,” she said. Other SU Welcome Fellowship winners are Dr. Anjali Pandey of the English Department (2001), Dr. Xiaohong Wang of the Mathematics and Computer Sciences Department (2002), Dr. Darrell Mottley Newton of the Communication and Theatre Arts Department (2003) and Dr. Jing Quan of the Information and Decision Sciences Department (2003). Presented by MHEC, this competitive incentive program helps eligible Maryland universities recruit and retain diverse and accomplished faculties. For more information call 410-543-6030 or visit the SU Web site at

* * *

[ Top ]

* * *

* * *


Need help or have questions about this page? Please visit our Ask a Question or Report a Problem page.
Salisbury University 1101 Camden Avenue Salisbury, MD 21801 410-543-6000