Skip to Main Content
Salisbury University BW
A Maryland University of National Distinction
navigation icon opens header SALISBURY UNIVERSITY

navigation icon opens menu

Press Releases

Tuesday, May 15, 2007

Two New SU Education Departments to Increase Program Focus

SALISBURY, MD---Salisbury University’s oldest academic department is getting a facelift.

Beginning July 1, SU’s Education Department will be restructured, resulting in the creation of two new departments: Teacher Education and Education Specialties.

Current undergraduate programs in elementary education and early childhood education will become part of the Teacher Education Department, chaired by Dr. Laurie Andes.

The Education Specialties Department will include undergraduate programs in secondary and K-12 education, as well as graduate programs in reading and educational leadership. SU’s Master of Education and Master of Arts in Teaching programs also will come under this department, chaired by Dr. Nomsa Geleta.

Though SU’s 26 education faculty members will be assigned to each department based on their primary specialty, most will continue to teach in both departments.

“By dividing our program into two specific areas, we should be able to better serve both our students and our faculty,” said Dr. Dennis Pataniczek, dean of SU’s Samuel W. and Marilyn C. Seidel School of Education and Professional Studies. “These new departments will allow us to place more focus in specific areas as our program continues to grow.”

SU opened in 1925 as Salisbury Normal School, an institution for teacher education on the Eastern Shore.
For more information call 410-543-6030 or visit the SU Web site at

* * *

[ Top ]

* * *

* * *


Need help or have questions about this page? Please visit our Ask a Question or Report a Problem page.
Salisbury University 1101 Camden Avenue Salisbury, MD 21801 410-543-6000