Skip to Main Content
Salisbury University BW
A Maryland University of National Distinction
navigation icon opens header SALISBURY UNIVERSITY

navigation icon opens menu

Press Releases

Monday, August 25, 2003

Two New Faculty Receive Henry C. Welcome Fellowships

SALISBURY, MD---Two new Salisbury University professors recently received 2003 Henry C. Welcome fellowships from the Maryland Higher Education Commission (MHEC).


Valued at $20,000 over three years, the scholarships have been awarded to Dr. Darrell Mottley Newton, who comes from the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater, and Dr. Jing Quan from Florida Atlantic University.


Newton will teach in the Department of Communication and Theatre Arts. Born in Memphis, TN, he earned his Ph.D. in communication arts at the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 2002. He began his higher education career as a recruiter and advisor in the Health Careers Opportunity Program at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee in 1979. At UW-Whitewater he taught communications courses since 1991.


“I consider the fellowship to be not only an honor, but a wonderful way to make the transition to the SU campus,” Newton said.


He is a winner of multiple UW-Whitewater Travel Awards for presentations and research in Britain. In 1995 he received UW-Whitewater’s Chicano/Latino Student Program Outstanding Service Award for teaching, personal support and mentoring of Latino students.


With his fellowship, Newton said he planned to continue his study of the history of ethnicity and race within the British Broadcasting Co. and initiate a similar study within Maryland Public Television. He will also purchase a laptop computer with multimedia capabilities for use in teaching his media criticism classes.


Quan will teach in the Information and Decision Sciences Department. He received his Ph.D. in economics from the University of Florida in 1990. His higher education career began in 1985 as a teaching fellow in the Department of Management at Wuhan University in China.


Author of a number of scholarly articles on information economics and the impact of information technology investment, Quan hopes to use his Welcome Fellowship to benefit SU.


“I’m going to use the money to do research and publish papers to bring recognition to the University, the Franklin P. Perdue School of Business and the Information Sciences Department,” he said. “I really feel honored to receive this fellowship.”


Other SU Welcome Fellowship winners are Dr. Anjali Pandey of the English Department (2001) and Dr. Xiaohong Wang of the Mathematics and Computer Sciences Department (2002).


Presented by MHEC, this competitive incentive program to help eligible Maryland universities recruit and retain diverse and accomplished faculties.


For more information call 410-543-6030 or visit the SU Web site at

* * *

[ Top ]

* * *

* * *


Need help or have questions about this page? Please visit our Ask a Question or Report a Problem page.
Salisbury University 1101 Camden Avenue Salisbury, MD 21801 410-543-6000