Skip to Main Content
Salisbury University BW
A Maryland University of National Distinction
navigation icon opens header SALISBURY UNIVERSITY

navigation icon opens menu

Press Releases

Friday, December 4, 1998

High School Mathematics Contest, Hosted by Department of Mathematics & Computer Science, Winners Announced

SALISBURY, MD--Recently 72 students representing 24 high schools on the Delmarva Peninsula participated in the 15th annual High School Mathematics Contest hosted by Salisbury State University and sponsored by Conectiv and Crestar Bank. Drs. Homer Austin and Michael Bardzell of the Department of Mathematics and Computer Science were co-directors for the event.

The contest featured both individual and team competitions. Three students from each school working together on problems made up the teams.

Awards were given to both individual and team winners. Professor Dean Defino of the Department of Mathematics and Computer Science was the emcee for the awards ceremony. Dr. Robert M. Tardiff, associate dean of the Henson School of Science and Technology, gave a welcome and opening remarks. The awards were presented to the winners by Dr. Donald C. Cathcart, interim provost at SSU, who was assisted by Matt Likovich from Conectiv and Susan Slaughter from Crestar. Tripper Showell, regional director for Crestar, was also present for the ceremony.

Team winners were Steven Salvatore, Hillary Hoffman and Rebecca Owens, with advisor Linda Bragg, from Worcester Country School, first place; Kaitie Roach, Jonathan Watts and Clayton Lowry, with advisor Barbara Cole, from Indian River (DE) High School, second place; and Steve Winslow, Patrick Karsnitz and Ross Gore, with advisor Melissa Mitcheltree, from Parkside High School, third place.

The winners for the individual competition were Robert McDougal of Easton High School, first place; Stephan Winslow of Parkside High School, second place; Jordan Gilmore and Matt Linkswiler from Bennett High School, Justin Short from North Caroline High School, Julian Jones from Wicomico High School, Julian Avila from Pocomoke High School and Ajay Nainani from Cape Henlopen High School tied for third place.

Each member of the winning teams received a $50 savings bond and monetary awards for their schools. Prizes in the individual competition were a $100 savings bond for first place; a $75 savings bond for second place, and a $75 savings bond for third place (six-way tie).

Other participants were: Nicholas Holden, Mary Ford and Tim Johnson, with advisor Donna Killmon, from Arcadia High School; John Custis, Guanqiao Tong and Genevieve LeBlanc, with advisor Nancy Dix, from Broadwater High School; Brett Williams and Brian Keuski, with advisor Michael Eisenhour, from Cape Henlopen High School; Drew Heartley, Sherri Patton and Philip Baldwin, with advisor Ramona Birch, from Chincoteague High School; Aaron Beulah, Russell Hutchins and Scott Zebley, with advisor Timothy Moore, from Colonel Richardson High School; Scott Heatwole, Joshua Brewer and Holly Heatwole, with advisor Ed Heatwole, from Delmarva Homeschoolers; Andy Ewing and Graham Middleton, with advisor Jenni DuBreuil, from Easton High School; Michelle Ellison with advisor JoAnne Pratt, from James M. Bennett High School; Tuan Huynh, April Higgins and Eva Fowler, with advisor John Buckley, from Laurel High School; Leon Burks, April Calloway and Erin Wallace, with advisor Michael Savoy, from Mardela High School; Stephen Cumming, Josh Bundick and Jay Shield, with advisor Gary Ewell, from Nandua High School; Brandon Masten and Ben Schmier, with advisor Mike Miller, from North Caroline Senior High School; Laura Vinson, Kelley Travers and Susan Hurley, advisor Linda Harding, from North Dorchester High School; Tony Bland, Jacob Jolly and David Gibb, with advisor Randall Parks, from Northampton High School; Johnathan Ennis and Sarah Nordstrom, with advisor Carvel LaCurts, from Pocomoke High School; Annette Wallace, Tanita Johnson and Rachel Presby, with advisor Ken Watson, from Snow Hill High School; Beth Bostic, Syed Mohammad and Michael Schultz, with advisor Peg Rabenstine, from SS. Peter and Paul High School; Noah Lieb, Brian Harrison and Sang Tae Lim, with advisor Sherryl Angel from Stephen Decatur High School; Tim Fannin, Erin Bryan and Erwin Puente, with advisor Greg Macklin, from Sussex Central High School; Robert Fries and Brennan Greene, with advisor Phil Briggs, from Wicomico High School; and Blake Moore, Derek Bowman and Andrew Morozowich, with advisor Jennifer Cornell, from Woodbridge High School.

* * *

[ Top ]

* * *

* * *


Need help or have questions about this page? Please visit our Ask a Question or Report a Problem page.
Salisbury University 1101 Camden Avenue Salisbury, MD 21801 410-543-6000