Skip to Main Content
Salisbury University BW
A Maryland University of National Distinction
navigation icon opens header SALISBURY UNIVERSITY

navigation icon opens menu

Press Releases

Monday, January 3, 2000

High Math Contest Winners Announced

SALISBURY, MD--Recently 63 students representing 21 high schools on the Delmarva Peninsula participated in the 16thannual High School Mathematics Contest hosted by Salisbury State University and sponsored by Conectiv and Crestar Bank. Drs. Barbara Wainwright and Michael Bardzell of the Department of Mathematics and Computer Science were co- directors for the event.

The contest featured both individual and team competitions. Three students from each school working together on problems made up each team.

Awards were given to both individual and team winners. Dr. Kathleen Shannon gave the welcome and opening remarks. The awards were presented to the winners by Matt Likovich from Conectiv and Connie White from Crestar Bank.

Team winners were Chris DeLaurentis, Sean Lindsay, Robert McDougal, advisor Jenni DuBreuil, Easton High School, first place; Brennan Greene, Sean Parker, Aykut Yilmaz, advisor Herb Clough, Wicomico High School, second place; and Mike Durbin, Ryan Ewalt, Lawrence Dernulc II, advisor JoAnne Pratt, James M. Bennett High School, third place.

TTied for first in the individual competition were Robert McDougal, Easton High School and Richard Beyma, Pocomoke High School. Other winners were Frank Lee, Indian River High School, second place; Lawrence Dernulc II, James M. Bennett High School, third place; and Sean Lindsay, Easton High School, fourth place.

TEach member of the winning teams received a $50 savings bond and monetary awards for their schools. Prizes in the individual competition were a $100 savings bond for first place; a $75 savings bond for second and third place, and a $50 savings bond for fourth place.

TOther participants were: Jeremy Doggett, Tim Johnson and Jo Young, advisor Donna Killmon, Arcadia High School; Anna Mills, Courtney Prettyman and Lynn Walker, advisor Nancy Dix, Broadwater High School; Kanchan Kurani, Ben Laxton and Mark Moore, advisor Maureen Leclerc, Cape Henlopen High School; Philip Baldwin, Andrea Moore and Matthew Jarvis, advisor Ramona Birch, Chincoteague High School; Brian Cohee, Mike Sewell and Ryan Jones, advisor Timothy Moore, Colonel Richardson High School; Keith Cooper, Chrissy Kirk and Becky Birch, advisor Leslie Carney, Delmar High School; Jathan Austin, Holly Heatwole and Ivan Shoemaker, advisor Ed Heatwole, Delmarva Homeschoolers; Nick Heim and Veronica Ford, advisor Danette Mumford, Indian River High School; April Calloway, Marilyn Schneider and Michelle Figgs, advisor Claudia Hudson, Mardela High School; Jay Shield, Michael Harris and Heather Satterlee, advisor Gary Ewell, Nandua High School; Karen Hoffman, Patricia Merritt and Susan Hurley, advisor Linda Harding, North Dorchester High School; Taylor Moore, Cathy Lehmann and Rashieme McFadden, advisor Mike Miller, North Caroline Senior High School; Stephen Winslow, Gregory Johnson and Scott Baker, advisor Melissa Mitcheltree, Parkside High School; Sidrah Ahmad and Juan Avila, advisor Carvel LaCurts, Pocomoke High School; Katie Hancock, Jordyn Hill and Michael Owen, advisor Ken Watson, Snow Hill High School; Noah Lieb, Brian Harrison and Kenny Kwack, advisor Sherryl Angel, Stephen Decatur High School; Wesley Givens, Angel May and Sheryl Doughty, advisor Greg Macklin, Sussex Central High School; and Brett Martin, Hillary Hoffman and Kristen Carey, advisor Linda Bragg, Worcester Preparatory School.

* * *

[ Top ]

* * *

* * *


Need help or have questions about this page? Please visit our Ask a Question or Report a Problem page.
Salisbury University 1101 Camden Avenue Salisbury, MD 21801 410-543-6000