Skip to Main Content
Salisbury University BW
A Maryland University of National Distinction
navigation icon opens header SALISBURY UNIVERSITY

navigation icon opens menu

Press Releases

Tuesday, April 13, 1999

Computer Bowl Winners Announced

SALISBURY, MD--Students from 13 high schools from across the Shore recently participated in the Eastern Shore Computer Bowl, co-sponsored by Conectiv and Salisbury State University’s Department of Mathematics and Computer Science.

The winners of this year’s event were: first place, Easton High School, team members Sean Lindsey, Robert McDougal, Will Asche and Derek Bliss, coach Maureen Harper; second place, Parkside High School, team members Jon Giunta, George White, Steve Winslow and Phillip Lewis, coach Bill Pump; third place, Wicomico High School, team members Robert Fries, Matthew Green, Julian Jones and Jonathan Topping, coach Beth Royal; fourth place, Stephen Decatur High School, team members Justin Karl, Ed Ulrich, Pat Elder and Sam Card, coach George Benton; fifth place, Pocomoke High School, team members Sidrah Ahmad, Julian Avila, Richard Beyma and Niels Van Tongeren, coach Carvel LaCurts; and sixth place, Delmarva Homeschoolers, team members Jathan Austin, Holly Heatwole, Scott Heatwole and Kyle Waggoner, coach Ed Heatwole.

Other teams participating in the contest were: James M. Bennett High School, team members Josh Downes, Jason Ellison, Jon Chapin and David Bing, coach Brian Raygor; Gunston Day School, team members Devin Wootten, David Williams, Jed Ziegler and Dylan Gish, coach John Orban; Mardela High School, team members Jenny Walker, Miriam Witt, Aaron Parsons and Charlie MacCartee, coach Joanne Hoeffner; Mardela High School, team members Mike Kernan, Eli Hunter, Kristen Messick and Jessica Hatton, coach Joanne Hoeffner; Nandua High School, team members Alisha Chandler, Bryan McElwain, Matt Redmond and Wes Stapleton, coach Gary Ewell; Perryville High School, team members, Chris Eller, Josh Barczak, Sara Jensen and Brian Leonard, coach Kevin Connelly; Perryville High School, team members, Justin Smith, Brian Stepnitz, Ken Howell and Gregg Schardt, coach Kevin Connelly; Pocomoke High School, Juan Avila, Ray Bitting, Crawford Boyd and Cindi Major, coach Carvel LaCurts; Salisbury School, team members Geoff Andersen, Hance Maytiko, Chris Perdue and Brad Spengler, coach Mac Beattie; Salisbury School, team members Dan Brenner, Mike Brenner, Johnathan Kowalewski and Yash Parghi, coach Mac Beattie; Snow Hill High School, team members Tyler McKeen, Mandy Goeller, Crystal Swift and Annette Wallace, coach Tony Wilson; Stephen Decatur High School, team members Amanda Cannon, Jennifer Williams, Matt Fields and Vincent Legnaioli, coach George Benton; and Wicomico High School, team members Mark Carroll, Josh Linton, Kevin Meagher and Bryan Thompson, coach Beth Royal.

Monetary awards totaling $1,600 and plaques were given to the top four teams, and savings bonds were given to each of the top four team members. Recipients also received T-shirts, computer mouse pads and certificates of participation compliments of Conectiv.

* * *

[ Top ]

* * *

* * *


Need help or have questions about this page? Please visit our Ask a Question or Report a Problem page.
Salisbury University 1101 Camden Avenue Salisbury, MD 21801 410-543-6000