Skip to Main Content
Salisbury University BW
A Maryland University of National Distinction
navigation icon opens header SALISBURY UNIVERSITY

navigation icon opens menu

Press Releases

Friday, May 20, 2011

SU Digital Production 'Sammy' Award Winners Announced

SALISBURY, MD---Music has the Grammys, theatre has the Tonys, movies have the Oscars, and television has the Emmys. SU digital production students have the Sammys.

Named in honor of SU’s mascot, Sammy the Sea Gull, the Sammy Awards are held at the end of each spring semester, honoring students for their work.

This year, Jamyla Williams earned the $250 Dean’s Choice Award, selected by Dr. Maarten Pereboom, dean of the Charles R. and Martha N. Fulton School of Liberal Arts. Her award-winning piece, “Off Season Hot Spot in Ocean City,” showcased the long-standing Marty’s Playland arcade on the town’s boardwalk. It was broadcast on Delmarva Public Radio.

Williams said she appreciated the opportunity: “The quick turn-around time from planning the story to conducting on-site interviews to editing the sound enabled me to work independently and expeditiously, characteristics that I know will be essential in establishing a successful career in journalism.”

Max Millhausen of Timonium, MD, earned the $100 Student’s Choice Award for his animated short film “Real Love.”

Sammys also went to Williams for audio production and Millhausen for new media. Other winners were:

• Digital photography – black and white: Brian Distad of Bowie, MD

• Digital photography – color: Elora Tilghman of Ocean City, MD

• Non-fiction video: Shawn Phillip of Matawan, NJ

• Short-form video: Andrew Parkison of Gaithersburg, MD

• Live studio: Nicole Bata of Salisbury

• Film: Reed DeLisle of Ellicott City, MD

Honorable mentions included Cranston Cox of Crisfield, MD; Katie Edwards of Columbia, MD; Bryan Goldberg of Olney, MD; Jackie Holder of Preston, MD; Abby Hubbard of Mt. Airy, MD; Steven Jenkins, Kevin Palmer and Robert Wilkinson II of Salisbury; Caitlin Shea of Germantown, MD; Mark Zacepilo of Davidsonville, MD; and the Independent News Network.

Faculty coordinators include Preston Poe, Dean Peterson and Mike Camillo, and Drs. Andrew Sharma, Jerry Tabor, David Burns and Frances Kendall.

For more information call 410-543-6030 or visit the SU Web site at

* * *

[ Top ]

* * *

* * *

Need help or have questions about this page? Please visit our Ask a Question or Report a Problem page.
Salisbury University 1101 Camden Avenue Salisbury, MD 21801 410-543-6000