Skip to Main Content


Press Releases

Enable: $enabledate, Expire: $expiredate
Tuesday, February 10, 2009

Nominations Open For SU President's Distinguished Community Leadership Awards

SALISBURY, MD---Know a person or organization that is making a difference in the community? Salisbury University wants to hear about them!

SU’s Town-Gown Council is accepting nominations for its 2009 President’s Distinguished Community Leadership Awards. Awards are presented in two categories: organization and individual. Winners will be recognized during SU’s Spring Commencement.

Past winners have included the Community Foundation of the Eastern Shore, former Maryland Secretary of Agriculture Lewis Riley and Women Supporting Women and its founder, Sue Revelle.

“In honoring individuals and organizations such as Revelle and Riley, the University is able to not only say thank you to a community which has been remarkably generous to the campus, but to celebrate the honorees as exemplars of civic behavior and models of action for our students,” said Amy Hasson, SU chief of staff and Town-Gown Council chair.

Individuals and organizations in Wicomico, Worcester, Somerset and Dorchester counties in Maryland, Accomack and Northampton counties in Virginia and Sussex County in Delaware are eligible. Nomination forms are available online at

Nomination forms and two letters of recommendation should be sent to Amy Hasson, Chief of Staff, President’s Office, Salisbury University, 1101 Camden Ave., Salisbury, MD 21801, or e-mailed to The deadline for nominations is Monday, March 16.

For more information call 410-543-6030 or visit the SU Web site at


* * *

* * *

* * *


Online Suggestion Box Web Site FeedbackWeb Site Help Terms of UsePublic Information Act (PIA) Requests

Salisbury University 1101 Camden Avenue Salisbury, MD 21801 410-543-6000
Copyright © 2017