Nationally Competitive Fellowships Office (SNCFO)


  • Now: Wed Feb 03 13:54:18 EST 2016
  • Today: $today
  • Feb 3, 2016 1:54:18 PM
  • 2-03-2016 01:54 PM
  • February 3, 2016 1:54:18 PM EST test
Enable: $enabledate, Expire: $expiredate

Emily Lembo Wins Fulbright ETA to Korea

Wednesday, May 21, 2014
Emily Lembo

SALISBURY, MD---Despite being served live octopus and some “incredibly spicy” foods while teaching in South Korea last summer, Salisbury University senior Emily Lembo can’t wait to return.

The Salisbury resident has earned a prestigious Fulbright English Teaching Assistant (ETA) grant to travel to the east Asian country for the 2014-15 academic year. The U.S. Department of State exchange program places recipients in schools overseas to supplement English language instruction and provide a native speaker in classrooms.   More....

- Top -

Enable: $enabledate, Expire: $expiredate

SU Senior Earns Prestigious Gates Cambridge Scholarship

Friday, March 01, 2013

Niki KunciwSALISBURY, MD---A Salisbury University student has earned one of the world’s most prestigious international scholarships, the Gates Cambridge award, to explore the development of drugs, especially for antibiotic-resistant diseases. In the process, she is fulfilling a lifelong dream to study near her birthplace.  Senior Dominique Kunciw of Berlin, MD, will pursue a Ph.D. in chemistry at the renowned University of Cambridge. more...

- Top -

Enable: $enabledate, Expire: $expiredate

Overholt is First SU Student to Earn Fulbright Fellowship

Monday, April 02, 2012 

Charles OverholtMore than three centuries ago, Charles Overholt's ancestors immigrated to America from Germany in search of a better life.  Now, the Pocomoke City native is going back to the country they left as the first Salisbury University student to earn the prestigious Fulbright Student Fellowship, awarded by the U.S. Department of State’s Fulbright Exchange Program ...more

- Top -

Enable: $enabledate, Expire: $expiredate

List of Fellowship Successes


  • Payge Jennings - Fulbright ETA to Korea (semi-finalist)
  • Kathryn Stout - Fulbright ETA to Brazil (semi-finalist)
  • Rachel Pierson - Gilman, Costa Rica, Spring
  • Bridget Wilgus - Gilman, New Zealand (Alternate)
  • Patrick Robbins, Rotary Peace Fellowship, Australia, (finalist)


  • Anthony Lepinasse- Gilman, China, Spring
  • Jonathan Arias - Gilman, Costa Rica, Spring 
  • Corey Kaloc - Gilman, South Korea, Spring
  • Tener Jenkins - Goldwater Scholarship Honorable Mention
  • Omar Aboul-Enein, NIST Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship
  • May Palace, NSF Research Experience for Undergraduates Grant
  • Mayra Melendez, FirstGEN Civil Rights Fellowship; and Community Fellowship, Immigrant Justice Corps


  • Emily Lembo - Fulbright ETA Fellowship, Korea
  • Breck Sullivan -  EPA-Greater Research Opportunity Fellowship
  • William Dennis - Gilman, China, Spring
  • Stephanie Ferber - Gilman, Costa Rica, Spring 
  • Rachel Smith - Gilman, Ghana, Spring (declined) 



  • Charles Overholt - Fulbright Fellowship
  • Keyyana Blount - EPA Greater Research Opportunity Fellowship
  • Amanda Stone - EPA Greater Research Opportunity Fellowship
  • Payge Jennings - David L. Boren Scholarship to Korea (Alternate)


  • Vincent Varsalona - Gilman, Japan (Fall)
  • Jessica Akyea - Gilman, Equador (Fall)
  • Emily Hawthorne - Gilman, Ecuador (Spring)
  • Eric Lindblad - Gilman, Estonia (Spring)
  • Jessica Johnson - EPA Greater Research Opportunity Fellowship


  • Daniel McElwain - Gilman, China (Fall)
  • Cherita Richards - Gilman, Ecuador (Fall)
  • Brittany Fouz - Gilman, Ecuador (Fall)
  • James Townsend - Gilman, Tanzania (Spring)
  • Colleen Eschenburg - Gilman, Ecuador (Spring)
  • Emily Thorpe - EPA Greater Research Opportunity Fellowship
  • Jonne Woodard - EPA Greater Research Opportunity Fellowship

- Top -