Skip to Main Content
Salisbury University BW
A Maryland University of National Distinction
navigation icon opens header SALISBURY UNIVERSITY

mobile menu icon

National Pan-Hellenic Council


Divine 9The National Pan-Hellenic Council, Incorporated (NPHC) is currently composed of nine (9) International Greek letter Sororities and Fraternities: Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc., Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc., Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Inc., Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc., Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc. and Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. NPHC promotes interaction through forums, meetings and other mediums for the exchange of information and engages in cooperative programming and initiatives through various activities and functions.

On May 10, 1930, on the campus of Howard University, in Washington DC, the National Pan-Hellenic Council was formed as a permanent organization with the following charter members: Omega Psi Phi and Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternities, and Alpha Kappa Alpha, Delta Sigma Theta and Zeta Phi Beta Sororities. In 1931, Alpha Phi Alpha and Phi Beta Sigma Fraternities joined the Council. Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority joined in 1937 and Iota Phi Theta Fraternity completed the list of member organizations in 1997. The stated purpose and mission of the organization in 1930 was “Unanimity of thought and action as far as possible in the conduct of Greek letter collegiate fraternities and sororities, and to consider problems of mutual interest to its member organizations.” Early in 1937, the organization was incorporated under the laws of the State of Illinois and became known as “The National Pan-Hellenic Council, Incorporated.”

  • 1906 Cornell University Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity
  • 1908 Howard University Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority
  • 1911 Indiana University Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity
  • 1911 Howard University Omega Psi Phi Fraternity
  • 1913 Howard University Delta Sigma Theta Sorority
  • 1914 Howard University Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity
  • 1920 Howard University Zeta Phi Beta Sorority
  • 1922 Butler University Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority
  • 1963 Morgan State University Iota Phi Theta Fraternity

NPHC Board

President Amir Carter
Vice President Kevin Dupalis
Secretary Terchrisha Lawrence
Philanthropy VACANT
Public Relations Keonna Sims
Treasure VACANT


Need help or have questions about this page? Please visit our Ask a Question or Report a Problem page.
Salisbury University 1101 Camden Avenue Salisbury, MD 21801 410-543-6000