Faculty Senate


Holloway Hall

Committees of the Senate
and Faculty Representatives to Other Organizations

Academic Year 2010-2011

Committees of the Senate
(Most recent update: 10/20/10)

Committees Reporting to the Senate

Membership and Elections Committee

Chair: Michele Bracken

Designated Senator: Kurt Ludwick

Lance Garmon, PSYC, 08-11, FULTON
Christy Weer, MGMT, 09-12, PERDUE
Michele Bracken, NURS, 09-12, HENSON
Douglas DeWitt, EDSP, 10-13, SEIDEL

Membership & Election Procedures

Undergraduate Curriculum Committee

Chair: Gene Williams

Designated Senator: Darrell Mullins

Charisse Chappell, PSYC , 08-11, At-large
Deborah Mathews, SOWK, 08-11, SEIDEL
Fatollah Salimian, ACCT, 09-12, PERDUE
David Parker, MATH, 09-12, At-large
Gene Williams, BIOL, 09-12, HENSON
Emily Story, HIST, 10-13, FULTON
Edward Robeck, EDUC, 10-13, At-large

UCC Website: www.salisbury.edu/provost/ucc

Academic Policies Committee

Chair: Elizabeth Ragan

Designated Senator: Theodore Gilkey

Michael Folkoff, GEOG, 08-11, At-large
Elizabeth Ragan, HIST, 08-11, FULTON
Bayta Hyman, SOWK, 09-12, SEIDEL (sabbatical)
Diana Wagner, EDSP, Sp. '11, SEIDEL
Shekar Shetty, FINA, 09-12, PERDUE
Lucy Morrison, ENGL, 10-13, At-large
Chasta Parker, CHEM, 10-13, HENSON

Honors Program Committee

Chair: Joerg Tuske
Designated Senator: Kristen Walton

Marta Losonczy-Marshall, PSYC, 09-11, At-large
Kathryn Kalmanson, LIBR, 09-11, At-large
Joerg Tuske, PHIL, 10-12, At-large
Elizabeth Emmert, BIOL, 10-12, At-large


Library Committee

Chair: Jamie Emerson

Designated Senator: Vera Street

Leigh Ann DePope, 08-11, LIBRARY
Joyce Wiencek, EDSP, 08-11, SEIDEL
Jamie Emerson, ECON, 09-12, PERDUE
Ross Leasure, ENGL, 10-13, FULTON
Bart Talbert, HIST, Sp. '11, FULTON
Stephen Habay, CHEM, 10-13, HENSON

Faculty Development Committee

Chair: Michele Schlehofer

Designated Senator: Gail Welsh

Mou Chakraborty, LIBR, Fall 2010, At-large
Karen Rayne, ENGL, 08-11, At-large
Michele Schlehofer, PSYC, 09-12, At-large
Taehyun Nam, POSC, 09-12, At-large
Shekar Shetty, FINA, 09-12, At-large

Travel Grants Site

Teaching-Learning Conference: Call for Proposals

Committee on Promotions

Chair: Stephen Adams

Designated Senator: David Rieck

Stephen Adams, MGMT, 10-11, At-large
Patricia Richards, EDSP, 10-11, SEIDEL
Jing Quan, ECON, 10-11 PERDUE
Greg Cashman, POSC, 09-12, At-large
 David Rieck, CHEM, 10-13, HENSON
John Wenke, ENGL, 10-13, FULTON
Gail Welsh, PHYS, 10-13, At-large

Special Eligibility: Not eligible for promotion during service on this committee; must be tenured; department chairpersons may not serve.

Faculty Welfare Committee

Chair: Michael Folkoff

Designated Senator: Kashi Khazeh

Grace Clement, PHIL, 08-11 , At-large
Michael Folkoff, GEOG, 08-11, At-large
Vicki Root, SOWK, 09-12, SEIDEL
Christy Weer, MGMT, 09-12, PERDUE
Kathleen Shannon, MATH, 10-13, HENSON
Natalie Hopson, PSYC, 10-13, FULTON

Sabbatical Leave Form

Academic Freedom and Tenure Committee

Chair: Doug Marshall

Designated Senator: Adam Wood

Roberta Adams, POSC, 08-11, At-large
Doug Marshall, ACCT, 08-11 , At-large
Susan Battistoni, NURS, 09-12, At-large

Dean Kotlowski, HIST, 09-12, At-large
Charles Cipolla, SOCI, 10-13, At-large
Jodi Morrison, CMAT, Sp. '11, At-large

Special Eligibility: Must be tenured.

Learning With Technology Committee

Chair: Les Erickson

Designated Senator: Douglas DeWitt

Douglas DeWitt, EDSP, 08-11, SEIDEL
Claire Kew, MDFL, 08-11, FULTON
Krista Knapp, LIBR, 08-11, LIBRARY
Alexis Aguilar, GEOG, 09-12, At-large
Les Erickson, BIOL, 09-12, HENSON
Meredith Patterson, PSYC, 10-13, At-large
Arvi Arunachalam, FINA, 10-13, PERDUE

Committee Website

Learning Technology Request Form

Guiding Principles for IT

International Program Committee

Chair: Jeorg Tuske

Designated Senator: Pat McDermott

Amal Ali Moustafa, GEOG, 09-11, HENSON
 Connie Pubill, MDFL, 09-11, FULTON
Claudia Burgess, EDUC, 09-11, SEIDEL
Kashi Khazeh, FINA, 10-11, PERDUE
Oliver Roche, MGMT, 10-12, PERDUE
Dean Ravizza, HPEHP,  10-12, SEIDEL
Jeorg Tuske, PHIL, 10-12, FULTON
Dorothea McDowell, NURS, 10-12, HENSON

Long Range Academic Planning Committee

Chair: Batya Hyman

Designated Senator: John Kalb

Michael Lewis, HIST, 09-11, FULTON
Stephen Adams, MGMT, 09-11, PERDUE
Batya Hyman, SOWK, 10-12 SEIDEL (sabbatical)
John Lamanca, HPEHP, Sp. '11, SEIDEL
Miguel Mitchell, CHEM, 10-12, HENSON
Keith Brower, MDFL, 10-12, At-large

Faculty Awards & Recognition Committee

Chair: Claire Kew

Designated Senator: Craig Clarke

Craig Clarke, PSYC, 08-11, FULTON
Frank Shipper
, MGMT, 08-11, PERDUE
[   OPEN   ], 09-12, HENSON
Joyce Bell, SOWK, 09-12, At-large
Claire Kew, MDFL, 10-13, SEIDEL

Admissions and Readmissions Committee

Chair: Meredith Patterson

Designated Senator: Donna Ritenour

Timothy Dunn, SOCI, 08-11, At-Large
Edward Senkbeil, CHEM, 08-11, At-Large
Linda Cockey, MUSC, 09-12, At-large
Meredith Patterson, PSYC, 09-12, At-large
Wayne Ackerson, HIST, 10-13, At-large
Mohammad Moazzam, MATH, 10-13, At-large

Faculty Financial Affairs

Chair: Brian Hill

Designated Senator: Mara Chen

Martha Zimmerman, LIBR, 08-11, LIBRARY
Elizabeth Emmert, BIOL, 08-11, At-large
Mara Chen, GEOG, 09-12, HENSON
Joel Jenne, EDSP, 09-12, SEIDEL
Natalie Hopson, PSYC, 10-13, FULTON

Brian Hill, ECON, 10-13, PERDUE

University Academic Assessment Committee

Chair: Larence Becker

Designated Senator: Starlin Weaver

Amal Ali Moustafa, GEOG, 08-11, HENSON
Katherine Miller, CHEM, Sp. 11, HENSON
Kelly Fiala, HPEHP
, 08-11, At-large
Chin-Hsiu Chen, EDUC, 08-11, SEIDEL
Moushumi Chakraborty, LIBR, 09-12, LIBRARY
Arvi Arunachalam, FINA
, 09-12, PERDUE

Larence Becker
, PSYC, 10-13, At-large
Nicole Munday
, ENGL, 10-13, FULTON

Honors Convocation Committee


Designated Senator: Michael Scott

Moushumi Chakraborty, LIBR, 10-11, At-large
Robert Luttrell, CHEM, 10-11, At-large
Cecilia Acocella, PSYC, 10-12, At-large
Katherine Hinderer, NURS, 10-12, At-large
William Folger, MUSC, 10-13, At-large
Dennis Leoutsakas, CMAT, 10-13, At-large


Special Committees of the Senate

These four committees are elected when needed as described in the Faculty Senate Bylaws

Faculty Hearing Committee

Faculty Retrenchment Committee

Retrenchment Appeals Committee

Faculty Mediation Committee

Other Committees Reporting to the Senate:

Council of University System Faculty

Paul Flexner, ART, 08-11, At-large
Pat McDermott, MGMT, 10-12
, At-large
David Parker, MATH, 10-13
, At-large
Roberta Adams, POSC, 09-12
, At-large (Alternate)

Maryland Higher Education Commission
Faculty Advisory Committee

Special Eligibility: SU alternates with FSU for this position.

Arvi Arunachalam, FINA, 10-12, At-large

Athletics Committee

Designated Senator: Thomas Anderson

Bart Talbert, HIST, 09-11, At-large
Mark de Socio, GEOG, 10-12, At-large

Athletic Committee Bylaws

Graduate Council

Chair: Joaquin Vila

Designated Senator: Kashi Khazeh

Kashi Khazeh, FINA, 09-11 PERDUE
Susan Battastoni, 09-11 HENSON
Nomsa Geleta, EDSP, 10-12 SEIDEL
Joaquin Vila, ENGL, 10-12, FULTON

Please contact Kurt Ludwick, Senate Webmaster,
with any questions, additions or corrections