Skip to Main Content
Salisbury University BW
A Maryland University of National Distinction
navigation icon opens header SALISBURY UNIVERSITY

Financial Aid Office mobile navigation icon - click to toggle slide

Citizen or Eligible Non-citizen

Eligible Citizenship Categories for Federal Financial Aid:

  • You are a U.S. Citizen (US birth certificate or Form FS-240, FS-545 or DS-1350)
  • You are a U.S. National (includes natives of America, Samoa, or Swain's Island).
  • You are a lawful permanent resident (possess Permanent Resident Card I-155 since 1997 or Resident Alien Card I-551 prior to 1997, or I-151 issued prior to June 1978).
  • Possess a US Passport or US Passport Card (except limited passports - one year duration)
  • Possess an Arrival/Departure Record CBP Form I-94 or the Departure Record Form I-94A with the endorsement "Processed for I-551. Temporary Evidence of Lawful Admission for Permanent Residence. Valid until ______________. Employment Authorized." NOTE: This is not valid if the expiration date has passed.
  • U.S. Department of State issued machine readable immigrant visa (MRIV) in the holder's passport. The MRIV must have a U.S. CBP inspector admission stamp, and the statement " UPON ENDORSEMENT SERVES AS TEMPORARY I - 551 EVIDENCING PERMANENT RESIDENT FOR 1 YEAR."
  • USCIS issued United State Travel Document containing the Reentry Permit (Form I-327) and the Refugee Travel Document (Form I-571) and is annotated with "Permit to Reenter Form I-327 (Rev. 9-2-03)."
  • You are not a U.S. citizen or eligible non-citizen, but have an I-94 or I-94A with one of the following designations:
    • Refugee - status not revoked
    • Asylum Granted - status not revoked 
    • Indefinite Parole - document not expired
    • Humanitarian Parole - document not expired
    • Cuban-Haitian entrant, status pending
  • Victims of human trafficking - possess I-94 with a T1, T2 T3 or T COA code
  • Battered immigrants-qualified aliens - possess Form I-797, Notice of Action form.
  • Jay Treaty - contact the financial aid office for further guidance
  • Possess a Certificate of Citizenship (N-560 or N-561) issued by the USCIS
  • Possess a Certificate of Naturalization (N-550 or N-570) issued by the USCIS

Ineligible Citizenship Categories for Federal Financial Aid:

  • Employment Authorization Card (I-688A, I-688B or I-766)
  • Only possess a "Notice of Approval to Apply for Permanent Residence" (I-171 or I-464)
  • If you are in the U.S. on a non-immigrant visa. This includes (but limited to an F1, F2 or M-1 Student Visa, NATO visas, A2 or A3 visas, E-2 Treay Investor (spouse/child) Visa, J-1 or J-2 Exchange Visitor Visa, a G series Visa, or B-1 or B-2 Visitor Visa, a H or L series Visa, or U- Visa holders).
  • Granted DACA (Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals)
  • Family Unity Status (Form I-817, Application for Family Unity Benefits)
  • I-94 stamped “Temporary Protected Status”
  • Temporary Resident  
  • Temporary Protected Status stamped on I-94 form
  • Only possess an I-130
  • Only possess an N-600
  • Driver's License
  • Enhanced Driver's License
  • Social Security Card
Need help or have questions about this page? Please visit our Ask a Question or Report a Problem page.
Salisbury University 1101 Camden Avenue Salisbury, MD 21801 410-543-6000